Mississippi Area Codes, United States

Find the real owner of someone with a 228 and 769, 601, 662 Mississippi area codes


Mississippi has been a US state since 1817, although it did secede in 1861 before rejoining in 1870. Today, the Hospitality State is the second-largest gambling state in the US, but it is also the cradle of historical civil rights movements. The nearly 3 million residents of Mississippi have phone numbers for personal and business purposes. However, scams and unsolicited telemarketing calls are commonplace. Regarding the latter, listing your number on the DoNotCall registry is a good solution. A better solution for both is to use a reverse phone search to look up the caller’s information on the Mississippi phone numbers database.

Initially, phone numbers databases were called white pages—large books containing the names, addresses, and phone numbers of people and businesses in a small town or city block. Residents could get a personal copy or use a public white page. However, these books did not always contain recent listings, and public white pages were often trashed or defaced. Moving phone number listings online helped broaden public access to accurate information. 

Information obtained through a reverse phone lookup on the Mississippi phone numbers database is largely accurate because phone numbers are always unique to their registered owners. 

Take the typical Mississippi phone number, 601-NXX-XXXX, for example. The first set of digits, 601, is the area code representing the caller’s general location. The next set of digits, NXX, is the prefix code, which specifies the particular street where the phone number owner resides. Finally, the last set of digits, XXXX, is the line number. It is unique to a specific owner. So, if a Mississippi phone number were to be a house address, the line number would be a specific flat number or house number. 

Phone numbers in Mississippi can share the same area code and prefix code. However, a line number is always unique to a specific person or business. No two individuals can have the same line number—although you may find out that several persons have owned the same number in the past. A reverse phone lookup will turn up the names and addresses of these persons.

CountyFIPS codeCounty seatEstablishedPopulationArea
Adams County001Natchez179929,538460 sq mi
Alcorn County003Corinth187034,740400 sq mi
Amite County005Liberty180912,720730 sq mi
Attala County007Kosciusko183317,889735 sq mi
Benton County009Ashland18707,646407 sq mi
Bolivar County011Cleveland,
183630,985876 sq mi
Calhoun County013Pittsboro185213,266587 sq mi
Carroll County015Vaiden,
18339,998628 sq mi
Chickasaw County017Houston,
183617,106502 sq mi
Choctaw County019Ackerman18338,246419 sq mi
Claiborne County021Port Gibson18029,135487 sq mi
Clarke County023Quitman183315,615691 sq mi
Clay County025West Point187118,636409 sq mi
Coahoma County027Clarksdale183621,390554 sq mi
Copiah County029Hazlehurst182328,368777 sq mi
Covington County031Collins181918,340414 sq mi
DeSoto County033Hernando1836185,314478 sq mi
Forrest County035Hattiesburg190678,158467 sq mi
Franklin County037Meadville18097,675565 sq mi
George County039Lucedale191024,350478 sq mi
Greene County041Leakesville181113,530713 sq mi
Grenada County043Grenada187021,629422 sq mi
Hancock County045Bay St. Louis181246,053477 sq mi
Harrison County047Gulfport,
1841208,621581 sq mi
Hinds County049Jackson,
1821227,742869 sq mi
Holmes County051Lexington183317,000756 sq mi
Humphreys County053Belzoni19187,785418 sq mi
Issaquena County055Mayersville18441,338413 sq mi
Itawamba County057Fulton183623,863532 sq mi
Jackson County059Pascagoula1812143,252727 sq mi
Jasper County061Bay Springs,
183316,367676 sq mi
Jefferson County063Fayette17997,260519 sq mi
Jefferson Davis County065Prentiss190611,321408 sq mi
Jones County067Laurel,
182667,246694 sq mi
Kemper County069De Kalb18338,988766 sq mi
Lafayette County071Oxford183655,813631 sq mi
Lamar County073Purvis190464,222497 sq mi
Lauderdale County075Meridian183372,984704 sq mi
Lawrence County077Monticello181412,016431 sq mi
Leake County079Carthage183321,275583 sq mi
Lee County081Tupelo186683,343450 sq mi
Leflore County083Greenwood187128,339592 sq mi
Lincoln County085Brookhaven187034,907586 sq mi
Lowndes County087Columbus183058,879502 sq mi
Madison County089Canton1828109,145719 sq mi
Marion County091Columbia181124,441542 sq mi
Marshall County093Holly Springs183633,752706 sq mi
Monroe County095Aberdeen182134,180764 sq mi
Montgomery County097Winona18719,822407 sq mi
Neshoba County099Philadelphia183329,087570 sq mi
Newton County101Decatur183621,291578 sq mi
Noxubee County103Macon183310,285695 sq mi
Oktibbeha County105Starkville183351,788458 sq mi
Panola County107Batesville,
183633,208684 sq mi
Pearl River County109Poplarville189056,145812 sq mi
Perry County111New Augusta182011,511647 sq mi
Pike County113Magnolia181540,324409 sq mi
Pontotoc County115Pontotoc183631,184497 sq mi
Prentiss County117Booneville187025,008415 sq mi
Quitman County119Marks18776,176405 sq mi
Rankin County121Brandon1828157,031775 sq mi
Scott County123Forest183327,990609 sq mi
Sharkey County125Rolling Fork18763,800428 sq mi
Simpson County127Mendenhall182425,949589 sq mi
Smith County129Raleigh183314,209636 sq mi
Stone County131Wiggins191618,333445 sq mi
Sunflower County133Indianola184425,971694 sq mi
Tallahatchie County135Charleston,
183312,715644 sq mi
Tate County137Senatobia187328,064404 sq mi
Tippah County139Ripley183621,815458 sq mi
Tishomingo County141Iuka183618,850424 sq mi
Tunica County143Tunica18369,782455 sq mi
Union County145New Albany187027,777416 sq mi
Walthall County147Tylertown191213,884404 sq mi
Warren County149Vicksburg180944,722587 sq mi
Washington County151Greenville182744,922724 sq mi
Wayne County153Waynesboro180919,779810 sq mi
Webster County155Walthall18749,926423 sq mi
Wilkinson County157Woodville18028,587677 sq mi
Winston County159Louisville183317,714607 sq mi
Yalobusha County161Water Valley,
183312,481467 sq mi
Yazoo County163Yazoo City182326,743920 sq mi