Mississippi Government

The Mississippi Government is responsible for the state of Mississippi. It is divided into three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The Mississippi Constitution establishes these branches and provides for their powers and duties.

mississippi government

The executive branch is headed by the governor, who is elected to a four-year term. The lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, auditor, treasurer, and commissioner of agriculture and commerce are also elected to four-year terms.

The Mississippi Legislature is bicameral and consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The senators serve four-year terms while representatives serve two-year terms. Both chambers are responsible for passing laws.

The Mississippi judiciary is made up of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, and the chancery courts, circuit courts, and justice courts. The Supreme Court is the highest in the state and consists of nine justices who are elected to eight-year terms. The Mississippi Court of Appeals is made up of fifteen judges who are elected to eight-year terms. The chancery courts hear cases involving equity, wills, trusts, adoptions, guardianships, conservatorships, and divorces. Circuit courts are Mississippi’s general trial courts and hear both criminal and civil cases. Justice courts have limited jurisdiction over minor criminal offenses and small civil claims.

Mississippi has several local governments, including counties, municipalities, and school districts. There are eighty-two counties in Mississippi, each governed by a board of supervisors. Municipalities include cities, towns, and villages.

Government of Mississippi State

Official Name: Mississippi

Governor: Tate Reeves

Email: governor@govreeves.ms.gov

Contact: Contact Governor Tate Reeves’ office

Main Address: P.O. Box 139
Jackson, MS, 39205

Phone Number: 1-601-359-3150

Mississippi State Agencies

Attorney General

Consumer Protection Offices

Corrections Department

Education Department

Emergency Management Agency

Election Office

Motor Vehicle Offices

Surplus Property Sales

Travel and Tourism

Social Services